Tenacious Representation For Cocaine Charges
Possession: Possession of cocaine is a serious offense in North Carolina. Regardless of your prior history or the amount on your person at the time of the arrest, possession of cocaine is punishable as a Class I felony. In North Carolina, a Class I felony is the lowest classification of felonies but still carries up to one year in jail, fines and loss of licenses.
Possession with intent to distribute (PWID): Possession of cocaine with intent to distribute (PWID) is a Class H felony. Intent to distribute is based on the weight of the cocaine, if it is packaged into smaller containers, or if there are other items that indicate intent to distribute such as the presence of scales and small bags when arrested. PWID carries a potential jail sentence ranging from five months to up to 25 months for defendants with criminal records.
If in possession of 28–200 grams of cocaine, the charge becomes a Class G felony. People convicted of Class G felonies face up to 51 months in jail and a $50,000 fine.
If in possession of 200.1–400 grams of cocaine, the charge becomes a Class F felony. People convicted of Class F felonies face up to 93 months in jail and a $100,000 fine.
If in possession of greater than 400 grams of cocaine, the charge becomes a Class D felony. People convicted of Class D felonies face up to 222 months in jail and a $250,000 fine.
Find A Defense Attorney Immediately
If you’ve been charged with possession, or possession with intent to distribute cocaine or any other drug, seek immediate legal assistance. Contact us now to schedule your free consultation at 984-297-0075 or send us an email by clicking on the link below.